Becoming A Master – “Like I’m on an episode of time team”

Week 18

Hello! I can’t really believe this but next week is my last week of teaching at UCL. Thats not to say that the work stops not one bit! I’m not a master of science quite yet! Anyway thats next weeks problem to deal with I’m here to tell you about what I’ve been up to this week.

This week has been similar to the rest this term with lectures and assignment and what not. I got to find some macrofossils which was so cool on Monday. I found a part of a fish scale which to me was just amazing. That tiny piece of scale can tell us a lot about the type of lake that fish was living in. For example the fish species that I found does well in lakes that are going through eutrophication. This is a process when you get excessive nutrients going into the lake which causes an algal bloom. From this we can infer along with other resources what life was like surrounding the lake. All really cool and makes me feel a little like I’m on an episode of time team.

This weekend I also went to one of my favourite places in London, of course its Kew Gardens. So I will leave you with a few pictures of Kew in bloom!

 

See you soon!

ThatBiologist Everywhere!

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a Reply

