Becoming A Master – Bouncing Back.

Week 15

Hello! So late last week I got a mark back that I wasn’t happy with. It happens to us all. I still passed the assignment but not with the standard that I expect from myself. I’ll be honest that it hit me hard. I always strive to be the best I can and this time I didn’t make it. I disappointed myself, it’s kind of simple as that.  I had it happen to me once in my undergrad degree as well and I learnt a lot from that time. I thought it might be helpful to write down my techniques for dealing with this situation for if I encounter this again or if any of you are struggling with the same thing.

Number 1: Walk away from everything for a little while.

You see the grade. You feel what you feel. For me this time I got angry and upset so it was important for me to walk away from the situation. By doing that you give yourself a little rest which you probably need. You also gain some clarity for when you come back. They say you should never respond to message when your feeling angry/upset, I firmly believe that you shouldn’t read feedback when feeling that way either. It doesn’t help anyone.

Number 2: Prepare for the comments.

Any good marker should be giving you a lot of feedback on your work. When you haven’t done well a lot of that feedback will be hard. So you should prepare both mentally and physically. Get comfy, have a drink, have a snack, maybe even a friend.

Number 3: Read your feedback

I think this is the hardest step, because its all too easy to leave that assignment behind. I don’t think that’s a good thing to do. By reading the feedback you will end up understanding where you went wrong. For example on my latest assignment my structure wasn’t great and I mislabeled a diagram. Big mistakes but it’s something I’ve learnt for next time. I also find its good if you can take notes from your feedback. It’ll save you having to go through this process again when you’re writing the next assignment.

Number 4: Don’t beat yourself up about it!

Bad grades happen to literally everyone. There is no point in beating yourself up for days on end about something you can’t do anything about.

Hope this may have been of help to some of you! Next week there will be three posts on thatbiologist!

ThatBiologist Everywhere!

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a Reply

