Becoming A Master – Sleepy Superhero

Week 13

go-to-sleep

Hello! So here we are at the end of another week and I am TIRED! I took some much needed time off this weekend but what I’ve learnt so far is that masters degrees are full throttle the whole time. In my undergrad, January was always a sleepy month where you could relax a little but with my masters I just don’t have the time to do that. Last week I submitted my assignments for last term and this week I’ve started ones for this term. I’m not complaining though, (I know it sounds like I am), I like being kept on my toes. I love all the new things I’m learning too. This past week I learnt that I can fully identify 17 different diatom taxa. I learnt I can put a digital photograph into a GIS map. I learnt what the thermocline is and how it affects coral reefs (more to come on that, it’s really cool). I also learnt about core extrusion from my field trip last week.

So after all that plus doing all the writing that I do everyday I am pretty tired. However, I keep going! I love what I do and I always feel like with what I’m learning I can make a real difference. I always come away from the week feeling I can save the world even if I am on occasion a bit of a sleepy superhero.

So on to the highlight of the week for me, which was getting approval for my dissertation idea. It’s just the bare bones of the project that I’ll start in the summer. I’ll write about it more once I get the official go ahead for it but I’m super excited to get going with it!

That’s all from me this week, I’m heading back to bed!

Sweet Dreams!

ThatBiologist Everywhere!

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a Reply

