Becoming A Master – In The Lab Late One Night

Week 3

As you might have guessed from this weeks title I’ve spent quite a bit of time this week in one of my favourite places! The Lab! It feels like forever since I last donned my coat and glasses so it was great to be back.

My week started with water chemistry using a spectrometer, that might sound complicated but all we were doing was measuring the nitrates and phosphate levels in the water samples we took from the ponds last week. Such fun! I’d love to insert a picture of me in my full PPE here but some of the chemicals we were using were quite nasty and my phone is my precious. Tuesday and Thursday were filled with lectures in preparation for a field course that I will be travelling to when you’re reading this. So I’ll leave talking about that til next week (such suspense!)

However my favourite thing I did this week was invertebrate identification! We took the inverts last week in Norfolk and this week we put them under a microscope to identify them. I love how by using the microscopes you can see just how detailed these guys are.
image

That’s all from me this week folks! Hope you all have had great weeks too!

ThatBiologist Everywhere!

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a Reply

